California Driver's License Requirements
Complete a California Certified Driver's Ed Class
online and have the Certificate of Completion
from that class.
Expert Driving School provides the best
available DMV certified
2. Practice taking the Driver Written Test. (optional)
3. Schedule an appointment with your local California DMV to
save waiting time. (optional)
4. At the DMV, to apply for a driver license, you must:
• Submit a completed DMV application form (DL 44), which can
be obtained at a DMV office. Signing this form means you agree
to submit to a chemical test to determine the alcohol or drug
content of your blood when required by a peace officer. If
you refuse to sign this statement, DMV will not issue a permit
• Present an acceptable birth date/legal presence document.
• Provide your true full name.
• Provide your Social Security Number. It will be verified
with the Social Security Administration.
• Pay the $31
application fee (as
of aug 2010* and is
subject to change
by the DMV) when you
apply for any new
or change of class
permit or license.
It will not be returned.
The fee is good for
12 months and allows
you to take the appropriate
law test(s) three
times, if needed,
during that period.
The fee pays for both the instruction permit and driver
license, if you qualify for both within the 12-month period.
If the application expires, you must resubmit documents, repay
the application fee, and retake the required tests.
• Pass an eye exam. Any person with a best corrected vision
of 20/200 or worse in the better eye cannot be issued a driver
license or use a bioptic telescopic or similar lens to qualify
for a driver license.
• Have your picture taken.
• Give a thumb print.
Department of Motor Vehicles
5. After completing and passing the DMV written
• Take at least 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction
with a professional driving instructor.
Expert Driving School offers DMV
certified behind the
• Start practicing driving at least 50
hours with a parent/guardian or any adult who is 25 years or
older. The adult must have a valid California driver's license
and certify to the 50 hours of practice time. At least 10 of
the 50 hours must be done at night. Parent-Teen Training
Guide from the DMV
6. Taking the Drivers Test Behind the Wheel
To be eligible to take the test, you must:
• Be 16 years old
• Have possessed your permit for a min. of 6 months
• Completed a certified Driver's Education Course
• Completed 6 hours of professional driver training behind the
• Have completed 50 hours of practice driving with a parent/guardian
or any adult who is 25 years or older. The adult must have a valid
California driver's license and certify to the 50 hours of practice
time. At least 10 of the 50 hours must be done at night.
• Show proof of insurance for the vehicle in which you will be
taking your driver's test.
(If you fail the drivers test, there is a 2-week waiting period
before you can retake the test. You have 3 chances to pass the
Premiere Driver's Ed Course Online
Sample Written Tests
DMV Parent-Teen Training Guide (opens
a pdf document)